Ernakulam Regional Co-operative Milk Producers’ Union Ltd. (Ernakulam Milk Union), milma, was registered on 12.9.1985 with Ernakulam, Thrissur, Kottayam and Idukki Districts in Central Kerala as its area of operation. The Union along with its sister unions (TRCMPU & MRCMPU) is affiliated to the Kerala Co-operative Milk Marketing Federation Ltd.   KCMMF was set up in 1980 as the implementing agency for Operation Flood II in the State of Kerala.  The goal of KCMMF is “the Socio-economic progress of the dairy farmer through procuring, processing and marketing of milk” The mission of milma is “farmers' prosperity through consumer satisfaction”.  The ERCMPU operates on the truly democratic lines of “of the farmer, by the farmer and for the farmer”. The Union has an elected Board and all employees including the Managing Director are its own employees.

The Union procures milk from farmers through affiliated Anand Pattern Dairy Co-operatives (APCOS) as well as from the traditional societies, which are not affiliated. The Union could ensure consistent and remunerative price to milk producers even when prices of most of other agricultural produces were volatile. The prosperity of 2.90 lakh odd milk producers of the state depends upon the Ernakulam Milk Union’s ability to provide an assured and regular market and remunerative price round the year for the milk produced by them.

Ernakulam Milk Union has four dairy plants viz., Ernakulam Dairy at Tripunithura, Thrissur Dairy at Ramavarmapuram, Kottayam Dairy at Vadavathoor and Kattappana Dairy at Nirmala City. In addition, it has a Products’ Dairy at Edappally, manufacturing Ghee, Sterilized Flavoured Milk, Peda, Ice cream, Yogurt etc. While milk from nearby societies are procured and processed at dairies, milk from hinterland is procured through 165 Bulk Milk Cooling Units (BMCUs) set up in the Dairy Co-operative Societies (DCS) and chilling centers located at Muvattupuzha and Chalakudy. 

All dairies and head office of the Union have ISO 9001:2015 & ISO 22000:2018 certification.

People at Helm





Shri. P Sreedhara Menon

21-09-1985 - 01-06-1987

Shri. P K Narendranath

21-09-1985 - 09-10-1987

Shri.T P Markose

02-06-1987 - 03-11-1994

Shri. P P Pappachan

10-10-1987 - 30-04-1996

Shri. P A Balan Master

04-11-1994 - 03-12-1995

Shri. U N Menon

01-05-1996 - 18-08-1996

Shri. K S Muraleedharan Pillai

04-12-1995 - 30-06-1996

Shri. Samuel K Mathew

19-08-1996 - 30-06-1998

Shri. P S Sebastian

01-07-1996 - 30-06-1999

Shri. Jose Abraham

01-07-1998 - 30-06-2010

Administrative Committee

01-07-1999 - 27-02-2000

Dr. K R Jayarajan

01-07-2010 - 31-12-2011

Shri. P S Sebastian

28-02-2000 - 27-02-2005

Shri. B Sushil Chandran

01-01-2012 - 31-05-2017

Shri. T P Markose

28-02-2005 - 05-03-2008

Dr. M  Muralidharadas

01-06-2017 - 30-11-2019

Shri. M T Jayan

05-03-2008 - 21-02-2013

Shri. Wilson J Puravakkatt

01-12-2019 -

Shri. P A Balan Master

22-02-2013 - 25-02-2019


Shri. John Theruvath

07-03-2019 - 11-08-2022


Shri. M T Jayan

12-08-2022 -